Congrats to our New President Anguss!!
Remember to like us on Facebook!! - https://www.facebook.com/skylinesdownunder

Author Topic: Boosting a GTSt  (Read 865 times)

ph1

Boosting a GTSt
« on: June 10, 2001, 03:00:17 AM »
lovettGTS
(5/29/01 1:32:34 pm)
Reply  Boosting a GTSt
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 Hi folks. This is my first post as I just joined this list. Also I am very new to tubrocharged cars so I guess some of my questions will be quite basic to may of you.

Just bought myself a 9 year-old GTSt R32 and seeking to boost it a bit. So far just installed a Hurricane air filter and a 3 inch exhaust, otherwise car is all factory specs.

I have read the archives and I understand that the GTSt's stock boost is around 8 PSI but can be increased to around 12-13 PSi without any serious modifications. Would that be the case or will I fry my motor or turbo? How does not actually boost it from 8 to 13? I read some post that you need a boost (electronic) controller; isn't there a factory controller installed already? Would a boost meter be a real requirement? What HP increase can be gained here?

Thank you...

SilLine
(5/29/01 5:22:27 pm)
Reply  Boost
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 You should be able to to run up to 12psi with out too much of a problem. You need to to run GOOD!!! fuel not just standard unleaded.

An electronic boost controller is the best way to go to control boost, however you can use a bleed valve from Turbosmart, about $100AUD. And yes you do require a Boost gauge so as you can tell the exact pressure you and running through the rev range.

If you are running about 8psi and you up the boost to 12psi you will notice a significant difference. I have heard this before but if is not correct don't quote me, Every 7psi is roughly about a 50% increase in power.

So boost up and enjoy

Warps
(5/29/01 5:30:49 pm)
Reply  Re: Boost