Congrats to our New President Anguss!!
Remember to like us on Facebook!! - https://www.facebook.com/skylinesdownunder

Author Topic: RB20DET Laurel.....  (Read 2512 times)

Nissan.James

  • Guest
RB20DET Laurel.....
« on: March 06, 2006, 05:56:19 PM »
I spose that alot of people have asked this but im wondering what i need to change a laurel to a RB20DET instead of the RB20E they all seem to some with. Obviously the engine, gearbox, ecu and loom but what else?

RB20det_VL

  • RB20E
  • *
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
RB20DET Laurel.....
« Reply #1 on: March 06, 2006, 06:34:39 PM »
The engine will bolt straight into the original mounts and you will need to swap the loom but otherwise you're right on the money.You may want to look at also getting an LSD aswell. They are an awsome engine, I've got an RB20det in my Holden VL Walkinshaw. Lots of fun :evil:

Good luck :king:
[size=20]Representing RB30det\'s[/size][/color]

Doing it sideways (not always by choice)

KiNGgTS25t

  • RB26DETT
  • *****
  • Posts: 2223
    • View Profile
    • http://
RB20DET Laurel.....
« Reply #2 on: March 07, 2006, 08:48:53 AM »
Have just done this to my a31 cefiro :) just need the engine,loom,ecu....and do to a bit of wiring under the dash.. :) everything bolts up easy as...but yeah you will want an LSD diff and maybe a gtst radiator :)
wap wap wap wap

UnharmoniX

  • RB25DET
  • ****
  • Posts: 418
    • View Profile
RB20DET Laurel.....
« Reply #3 on: March 07, 2006, 03:20:24 PM »
If you want I have a mint R33 GTS25-t diff up for sale, perfect for your conversion project. PM me if you want details.

SirRacer

  • RB20DET
  • ***
  • Posts: 170
    • View Profile
    • http://
RB20DET Laurel.....
« Reply #4 on: March 19, 2006, 11:27:25 AM »
what wiring under teh dash needs to be done, i was under the impression if you had the correct loom (rb20de or rb20det) everything would bolt straight into the computer mounting spot

pure_methamphetamachine

  • RB26DETT
  • *****
  • Posts: 8433
    • View Profile
    • http://geocities.com/psyminr34
RB20DET Laurel.....
« Reply #5 on: March 29, 2006, 09:12:53 AM »
Get a decent fuel pump: GTR or Bosche.
pure methamphetamachine
Team Sleeper
580.5kW @ Wheels



RIP Chris Leicester.
25 / 11 / 2007
I will never forget.
I will always keep my promise.


 

richie21

  • RB20DET
  • ***
  • Posts: 140
    • View Profile
RB20DET Laurel.....
« Reply #6 on: June 12, 2006, 11:56:19 PM »
you need a loom from ether a a31 or c33 with a rb20de/det and cut the engine plugs of and soilder the gtst ones on to it

pure_methamphetamachine

  • RB26DETT
  • *****
  • Posts: 8433
    • View Profile
    • http://geocities.com/psyminr34
RB20DET Laurel.....
« Reply #7 on: June 13, 2006, 09:43:45 AM »
Use the gtst loom and ecu and rewire the inside. Heaps easier.
pure methamphetamachine
Team Sleeper
580.5kW @ Wheels



RIP Chris Leicester.
25 / 11 / 2007
I will never forget.
I will always keep my promise.


 

richie21

  • RB20DET
  • ***
  • Posts: 140
    • View Profile
RB20DET Laurel.....
« Reply #8 on: June 13, 2006, 11:37:10 AM »
Quote from: bcnr34
Use the gtst loom and ecu and rewire the inside. Heaps easier.


na if you use the de/det loom from etha c33/a31 it just plugs in under the dash and theres only about 9-10 plugs in the engine bay that just need to be swaped. no wireing just cutting and replacing in the xact same place

Skywalker

  • Guest
RB20DET Laurel.....
« Reply #9 on: June 13, 2006, 05:48:44 PM »
Quote from: richie21
you need a loom from ether a a31 or c33 with a rb20de/det and cut the engine plugs of and soilder the gtst ones on to it


Me and a mate just put a 20det into a a31...we didnt cut or solder anything ay, cut some plug casing's and what have you but other then that just pluged it all in. easy as pie.

richie21

  • RB20DET
  • ***
  • Posts: 140
    • View Profile
RB20DET Laurel.....
« Reply #10 on: June 19, 2006, 12:23:41 PM »
Quote from: Skywalker
Me and a mate just put a 20det into a a31...we didnt cut or solder anything ay, cut some plug casing's and what have you but other then that just pluged it all in. easy as pie.


if the turbo engine is from a a31 rwd or c33 then it would all plug up no worries