Congrats to our New President Anguss!!
Remember to like us on Facebook!! - https://www.facebook.com/skylinesdownunder

Author Topic: RB20DET sensor question  (Read 507 times)

Looney_Head

  • RB26DETT
  • *****
  • Posts: 2494
    • View Profile
    • http://
RB20DET sensor question
« on: April 01, 2010, 10:45:36 AM »
HI i am just wanting to know if the two sensors in that are fitted to the water feed on the intake manfiold are needed?
i want to use one for my water temp sensor
god is just an imaginery friend for grown ups

BADHAB|T

  • RB26DETT
  • *****
  • Posts: 4843
    • View Profile
RB20DET sensor question
« Reply #1 on: April 01, 2010, 12:47:31 PM »
I could be wrong but one sends a signal to the ecu, the other is the water temp gauge

gtsr

  • RB26DETT
  • *****
  • Posts: 9390
    • View Profile
    • http://
RB20DET sensor question
« Reply #2 on: April 01, 2010, 01:27:39 PM »
You buy a watertemp sensor hose T fitting. Greedy (Dodsons Autospares in Auckland), Autobahn88 (find the nearest retailer), etc sell them. In Wellington, Speedtech might be able to get one, as they sell parts for Redline Performance who I think have them.

Here's the blue coloured T fitting I'm talking about on Greedy's website -

http://www.trust-power.com/03electric/radiator_hose_attachments.html

I gather it's 36mm diameter fitting you need (measure inside diameter of top radiator hose) for RB engine, as mentioned in part list under photo of fitting in link above (Greedy website).

Autobahn88 fitting -

http://www.ab88.co.uk/images/ashu06%20t%20joint%20.JPG

Looney_Head

  • RB26DETT
  • *****
  • Posts: 2494
    • View Profile
    • http://
RB20DET sensor question
« Reply #3 on: April 01, 2010, 04:14:17 PM »
due to how my intercooler piping is (pipe goes over the top of the radiator pipe not under it) that won't work i have one of those already and have been trying to work out how to fit it. hence wondering what those sensors are for and if they are needed when running a link.
god is just an imaginery friend for grown ups

b00stinz

  • RB26DETT
  • *****
  • Posts: 5819
    • View Profile
RB20DET sensor question
« Reply #4 on: April 01, 2010, 07:14:56 PM »
Hey dude i drew my sender signal from the factory one on the pipe, ill get a pic for you soon

Also here is the thread where i asked about it,  look at m0rph3us1986 post, he has a pic which you can see which one to splice and draw sender signal from

"In that picture mate, the bigger plug on the left is the 2 pin temp sensor for the ecu. The one to right of it is the single pin temp sensor for your factory gauge. This is where you should put your new one.

If you still want your factory gauge too work, go buy a 't' piece so you can put both into the one hole. If you dont care bout the factory gauge, just remove it and ram the new one in there."

http://www.skylinesdownunder.com/forums/showthread.php?t=59022&highlight=Wiring+gauges

The pic link:

http://www.hkskylineclub.com/images/engine/8a.jpg
« Last Edit: April 01, 2010, 07:17:59 PM by b00stinz »

gtsr

  • RB26DETT
  • *****
  • Posts: 9390
    • View Profile
    • http://
RB20DET sensor question
« Reply #5 on: April 01, 2010, 10:23:43 PM »
But if sensor part of T fitting faces downwards or to the side, wouldn't it work and the temp sensor clears the intake piping????

Or fit the optional Display Link for Link ECU with water temp gauge (much easier and less things to go wrong and less clutter inside cabin). Also get more gauges, datalogging, etc -

http://www.linkecu.com/products/TuningTools/DisplayLink

westybob

  • RB26DETT
  • *****
  • Posts: 2990
    • View Profile
RB20DET sensor question
« Reply #6 on: April 02, 2010, 01:45:58 AM »
How many temp guages do you need? The bigger one supplies the temp reading to your ecu - use the other one for your a/m temp guage.
« Last Edit: April 02, 2010, 02:12:45 AM by westybob »

Looney_Head

  • RB26DETT
  • *****
  • Posts: 2494
    • View Profile
    • http://
RB20DET sensor question
« Reply #7 on: April 02, 2010, 09:11:46 PM »
i have T'd into the dash sensor and see if that works for the a/m gauge if not the factory gauge will stop working lol. thanks for you help guys
god is just an imaginery friend for grown ups

Looney_Head

  • RB26DETT
  • *****
  • Posts: 2494
    • View Profile
    • http://
RB20DET sensor question
« Reply #8 on: April 21, 2010, 08:29:20 AM »
does any one know the thread size and pitch of the standard water temp sensor?
i don't have one and work and need to know.
thanks
god is just an imaginery friend for grown ups